The second rule of comedy? Research

Because the most exquisite timing in the world can’t rescue a gag if it’s based on a complete non sequitur.

“Half the people I told were thrilled. They congratulated me with great enthusiasm; the kind I imagine is now reserved for anyone who has a seat at the London 2012 Olympics not watching fly fishing.”

I don’t mind Dawn Collinson having a cheap swipe at The Quiet Sport in the Liverpool Echo. There was a time, in my pre-angling era, when I might have done it myself. Only I like to think that I might have first checked to make sure that fishing of any sort was an Olympic sport to start with.

You know, just to make absolutely certain that the joke wasn’t on me.

Leave a Reply

