Fishing begins with your rod in pieces

I’ve noticed a subtle shift in priorities in my fishing this year.

I don’t say the novelty’s wearing off but certainly the novelty of wanting to get a line out and be fishing at the earliest possible opportunity, regardless of whether there are fish within 100 yards of where I’m standing…

Nowadays, the prep and reconnaissance I once spurned are willingly embraced as another means of tipping the scales that little bit more in my favour.

And this article captures my new mood of due diligence to a tee…

“Slow down! A fly-fishing trip is supposed to be an escape from bothersome computers, traffic and phones. And slow down and scout to get important pointers on the “where, what and how to fish” the water before making that first cast. You’ll find this is time well invested”

Leave a Reply

