Oh Canada…dumping dispute rumbles on

Following on from the recent report on Canadian plans to dump mine waste in selected lakes, we start getting down to the nitty-gritty with this story of proposals to dump nickel waste into a Newfoundland water.

Disclosure time – I hold shares in North American companies in the energy and raw materials sectors. It’s an area of the market whose products I can at least understand and sooner or later we will all have to start addressing the problem of a world that can no longer take its resources for granted.

I mention this so that I don’t just come across as some thoughtless tub-thumper who views the world solely down the length of a fly rod. Somewhere out there, there’s a happy medium between keeping the planet running and keeping it healthy and while I’m frequently cynical as to how committed some companies are to locating it, I wave the Green flag in my own small bid to keep them honest and not merely as some anti-capitalism rant.

That’s why, when I read about the fate of Sandy Pond, I believe that the key quote comes from someone else who’s looking at both sides of the equation:

“On his back deck, Gerard Brothers points to a one-kilometre-long heap of slag jutting out of Placentia Bay, the remnant waste of the phosphorus plant.
‘I grew up with pollution and I don’t want to see no more pollution,’ the 52-year-old said.
With his daughter and wife out of work, Brothers says he struggles as his family’s sole breadwinner.
‘I should be one of the ones that want to see this, shouldn’t I? Not for the environmental cost,’ the high school caretaker said. ‘If that plant is coming over here, I don’t want to live here.'”

Leave a Reply

