I’ve got my rod down to nine inches; now what?

We may have to accept fuel costs as air travellers but baggage charges, thank heaven, we can still work on.

Succour in this respect comes from this useful article – How to Go Light and Low Budget, to which I add just the one tip – you always read a fraction of what you think you’ll read while on holiday. Every time I go away, five books go in my bag and only one of them ever comes out.

Sure, the idea of having just one tome to last a week entails severing a major umbilical cord in the psyche if you’re a bookworm like me but some things just have to be done. If you’re at East Midlands airport next Monday lunchtime, the man sobbing into his hankie will be me…

Leave a Reply

