“This is my fly rod”

“My new creed:

taken from “this is my gun”

This is my fly rod. There are many like it but this one is mine. My fly rod is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life. Without me, my fly rod is useless. Without my fly rod I am useless. I must cast my fly rod true. I must cast straighter than my enemy, who is trying to out fish me. I must catch fish before he catches one. I will. Before God I swear this creed: my fly rod and myself are defenders of my lake, we are the masters of fish, we are the saviors of my life. So be it, until there is no more fish, but peace. Amen.

Its spring and its time to get busy.”

Leave a Reply

