These flies could be the death of you

So there I am, quietly reading an article on the fishing flies of May and I see a reference to a coffin fly. A new one on me, so I Google the term.

I’m not sure it’s the version the author has in mind but I get this little charmer from the website deathonline.net –

“Coffin flies or scuttle flies…are most active at an exposed body after butyric fermentation has begun and when the corpse is starting to dry…They are also capable of completing their entire life cycle beneath the ground, so that several generations can occupy a corpse without coming to the surface.”

Strikes me that for anyone in the business of manufacturing cremation urns, this website represents a sponsorship opportunity to, er, die for.

And if your first thought on clicking the link was “I could tie one of those,” you need professional help…

Leave a Reply

